Chairman, Prasar Bharati

Dr. A Surya Prakash
Chairman, Prasar Bharati

Off. Tel.:+91-11-23118801/ 23118802

Follow @mediasurya

Dr. A Surya Prakash

Dr. A Surya Prakash is an author and columnist and a leading commentator on Indian Constitutional and Parliamentary issues and governance. Apart from his pioneering work on Parliament, Dr. Surya Prakash is known for his well-researched interventions on national issues.

Over the last 46 years, Dr. Surya Prakash has held key positions in several print and electronic media organisations. He was Editor, Zee News; Executive Editor, The Pioneer; India Editor, Asia Times, a business and political daily published from Bangkok and Singapore; Political Editor, Eenadu Group of Newspapers; and Chief of Bureau, Indian Express, New Delhi. Dr. Surya Prakash is a Member of Advisory Council, Vivekananda International Foundation, a New Delhi based ThinkTank and Director, India Foundation, New Delhi.

Dr. A Surya Prakash, supported by a K.K. Birla Fellowship, took a sabbatical in 1992 to study the working of India’s apex legislative body. The result was What Ails Indian Parliament, published in 1995 by Indus, an imprint of Harper Collins, which is hailed as the most definitive text on the working of India’s Parliament after W.H. Morris-Jones Parliament in India, published in 1957. His more recent work on Parliament – Public Money, Private Agenda – The Use and Misuse of MPLADS published by RUPA in 2013 has also won critical acclaim. The Emergency – Indian Democracy’s Darkest Hour, his latest book, was released in June, 2017 by the Hon’ble Vice President of India.

Dr. A Surya Prakash has several more publications on the working of India’s Parliament including chapters in many books. Among them are: Need to Regulate the Working of Political Parties in G. C. Malhotra (Ed.), Fifty Years of Indian Parliament, published by Lok Sabha Secretariat, New Delhi, 2002; Parliamentary Questions as Instruments of Accountability in Mehra and Kueck, (Ed.), The Indian Parliament – A Comparative Perspective, Konark Publishers Pvt. Ltd., Delhi, 2003.

Dr. A Surya Prakash has a Masters in Sociology from Mysore University and a D. Litt from Tumkur University. Dr. Surya Prakash secured a fellowship from the Frederick Ebert Foundation to study the working of Standing Committee of the German Bundestag in 1993. He has travelled widely and studied the working of the German and British Parliaments. He is also recipient of the Karnataka Rajyaostava Award; the Sardar Patel Fellowship from the Institute of Policy Studies; the Karnataka Patrika Academy Award; and the Bipin Chandra Pal Samman for Fearless Journalism.

Dr. A Surya Prakash was appointed Chairman of Prasar Bharati Board in October, 2014 for a period of three years and reappointed w.e.f. 4th December, 2017 for a second term.

bottom panel
What's New

© Copyright 2018, Website Content Managed by Prasar Bharati (IT Division).
Last Updated on 29/06/2018